A Memory….The White Cliffs of Dover, WWII

Okie was stationed in England, in the Women’s Army Corp, during World War II

~

~

 

~
A typed copy of that selection, in case people are reading on small screens

NHVH
(New Hampshire Veterans’ Home)
5/7/2012

A Memory

Today a group of middle aged men and women came to sing songs in the dining room. One song they sang brought back a long ago memory. The song was “The White Cliffs of Dover.”  I was a very popular song in World War II. It really brought back for me a long time ago.

I was a member of the Women’s Army Corp-WAC. My company was attached to the 8th Army Air Force.  We were stationed in Watford, England, a town just outside London.  I must have had the day off for we planned a train trip to Dover, a town on the east coast of England on the English Channel.

So many times I had seen the bombed out buildings in London.  There was hardly a whole building left.  Many people slept in the subway at night because it was safe there. Many children had been sent to stay with relatives or friends in northern England where they would be safe.

We took the train from London to Dover. There in Dover were the high chalk cliffs overlooking the English Channel.  We followed a path along the top of the cliffs.  The English Channel was all we could see to the East.  We thought about the terrible war that had gone on across the channel- the D Day landing on the coast of Normandy-the awful fighting all the way toward Berlin. It gave you a strange feeling of just being a little away from it all-sad and frightening.

So you see why the song, “The White Cliffs of Dover” was so meaningful to me.  The song says it all.

The White Cliffs of Dover

There will be blue birds over
The White Cliffs of Dover
Tomorrow just you wait and see
The shepherd will tend his sheep
The valley will bloom again
And Jimmy will go to sleep
In his own little room again
There’ll be love and laughter
And peace ever after
Tomorrow, when the world is free

Okie Howe
NHVH
(New Hampshire Veterans’ Home)

About Pocket Perspectives

A blog about shifting perspectives...
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Memory….The White Cliffs of Dover, WWII

  1. Pingback: “A Memory” by my 96 year old aunt…The White Cliffs of Dover | Pocket Perspectives

  2. judithhb says:

    Thank you for sharing this memory with a ‘displaced’ Londoner. I have sent the link on to each of my sisters, one in London and one in Los Angeles. Take care and do keep sharing your memories with us. I am now following your blog so I can read all your memories as they are posted. :)

    • Thanks Judith… Okie will see these comments in a few days. There are lots of newer selections that I brought back from NH with me…I’ll keep adding them….Kathy ps…Okie, Judith lives in NewZealand!

  3. What beautiful and poignant writing. Thank you so much for sharing it here, and sharing the link to this post over at my post today. Okie’s poetry is especially wonderful.
    With gratitude, Gina

    • If I may add to my comment that YOUR POETRY is wonderful Okie. I had clicked the link provided and thought I was over at Pocket Perspectives, but I think you both are working together on this delightful blog. I look forward to reading through more of your poetry here Okie. Thank you for sharing :)

      • Yes, Kathy, from PP, adds poetry and writing here on “96 and Still Writing”…which has gone through the names “94 and still writing,” ” 95 and still writing” and now 96… hurray Okie!
        Kathy was just in NH a few weeks ago and Okie gave her a number of more recent pieces to add to this blog…very special ideas. Kathy will continue to add selections.
        I’m so happy to hear that you and others are enjoying Okie’s writing, and I’m sure Okie will be pleased too.
        Thanks, Kathy

    • I agree…it’s special. :D Kathy (PP)

Leave a Reply

